As a Netflix subscriber, I usually find the supposedly personalized recommendations I receive generic and underwhelming.  However, today as I checked my queue I noticed the following quartet of recommended films…

italian-film

Notice the “Films from Italy” section.  Look at all that posterior!  I mean, sure, Italian film, sexually open culture, etc., but to have 3 of the 4 of recommended titles featuring buttocks on the film’s cover art… I’m not even sure what to think if that. To Quote Will Ferrell in Anchorman, “Hell, I’m not even mad.”  In fact, given my limited experience with Italian film, it may even make sense.

Elena and I recently watched a trio of Fellini Films: 8 1/2, La Dolce Vita, and Amarcord, the latter of which we actually were able to see on the big screen at Film Forum.  I really enjoyed the experience, and I’m sure that going forward I’ll explore other filmmakers this way.  I watch a good amount of old films, but this was my first major effort to explore an Italian filmmaker, and particularly in Amarcord, the camera’s fixation with asses–especially in the case of well-endowed middle-aged women–was noticeable, to say the least. 

The encounter with the tobacconist (from behind) in Amarcord

The encounter with the tobacconist (from behind) in Amarcord.

It would be an exaggeration to say that I was surprised by Fellini’s obsession with the female form; “amused” would be a better word.  And I guess I don’t have a bone to pick with Netflix either.  Even if it fails to recommend movies that I want to watch, at least Netflix appears (literally, in this case) to have cultural predilections firmly in their grasp.

